Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility
Established in 1983, Harwood Area Fire & Rescue is a volunteer fire and rescue department serving Harwood and the surrounding area. The department is made up of 25 volunteers and one full-time employee. These local residents are on-call 24 hours a day, 365 days a year, ready to serve area residents and visitors when an emergency occurs. Their time is donated without compensation, and all fire and rescue protection funding goes into improving services.
The department operates two engines, two rescues, and one tanker out of a centrally located fire station. Annually, the department responds to approximately 140 calls for service, holds and participates in community events, and logs over 4,000 volunteer hours between members.

Engine 2 & Rescue 1 with Sanford AirMed 6

We are always looking for individuals interested in joining our team of dedicated volunteers, and welcome any inquiries and questions.
If you are interested in volunteering with Harwood Fire & Rescue:
Please reach out to Asst. Chief Brian Giere by phone at 701-219-0600 or by email at [email protected].

New members learning pump operations on Engine 2

Find us on Facebook:  @HarwoodFireRescue  

Harwood Community Days Parade (2022)

Department Mission Statement

The mission of Harwood Area Fire & Rescue is to provide superior service to the patrons of the Harwood Fire and Rescue protection area in an effort to protect their lives, property, and environment. The members of the department will accomplish the mission through fire suppression, fire prevention, public education, emergency response, and non-emergency response. The department will maintain the highest level of readiness, enabling delivery of firefighting and emergency rescue services in a safe, competent, and caring manner.

Harwood Fire Protection Area (Does Not Include Rescue)


Harwood Area Fire & Rescue trains monthly in both emergency medical services and firefighting. Most members are certified Emergency Medical Responders or EMTs. All members are required to be certified in CPR/AED. Multiple members hold certifications such as Firefighter I, Firefighter II, and Automobile Extrication.

EMS Training: Takes place on the 1st Tuesday of each month at 6:30 p.m.
Fire Training: Takes place on the 3rd Tuesday of each month at 6:30 p.m. Some members attend NDFA State Fire School, held annually.
Most training is held at the Harwood Fire Station, located on the corner of Dakota Ave. and Co. Hwy 81.

Members training on vehicle fires

Contact Information

Harwood Area Fire & Rescue

302 Dakota Ave.

P.O. Box 93

Harwood, ND 58042

Station Phone: 701-281-5977

*Call 911 In An Emergency*

Asst. Chief Brian Giere

Phone: 701-219-0600

Email: [email protected]

Location of Station: 

302 Dakota Ave, Harwood, ND 58042

Cass Clay Alerts

Get prepared. Register for Cass Clay Alerts to receive emergency notifications!

Click the link below to sign up:

Cass Clay Alerts - Sign In (

Current Officers

Marc Mosser, Fire Chief

Brian Giere, Assistant Chief

Jason Eblen, Assistant Chief of EMS

Mike Svaleson, Battalion Chief

Nathan Keller, Captain

Troy Feeken, Captain

Current Members

Burg, Kaden
Drager, Tyler
Drees, Mike
Eblen, Jason
Feeken, Troy
Freitag, Eric
Gerth, Connor
Giere, Brian
Hansen, Brock
Kabanuk, Aaron
Keller, Nathan
McNamee, Krystal
McNamee, Rose
Mosser, Marc
O'Donnell, Shawn
Owsley, Nick
Schell, Jarrod
Sherbrooke, Ryan
Spiesz, Jennifer
Stremick, Alex
Svaleson, Mike
Unruh, Joey
Withnell, Nick

Past Members

Anderson, Chris
Anderson, Don
Bachmeier, Brent
Bachmon, Jon
Balderas, Tony
Butler, Jordan
Clark, Vicki
Dominguez, Adam
Duppler, Ben
Ellegard, Connor
Ellingson, Logan
Faulkner, Rob
Feick, Grant
Fix, Chris
Fletcher, Jolene
Gadberry, Jim
Gierszewske, Ron
Gloss, Logan
Gourde, Chris
Gourde, Paul
Hansen, Brad
Harbour, Tyler
Hodgson, Marty
Holm, Ronnie
Huffman, Caleb
Johnson, Jennifer
Johnson, Jon
Jorgenson, Kellen
Jury, Ernie
Koenig, Dale
Lease, Amy
Lidenberg, Justin
Lonski, Kathy
Mack, Janet
Mack, Ron
Martin, William
Montgomery, Shirley
Morris, Sherry
May, Mark
Mosser, Nicole
Novak, Cameron
Oye, Jerry
Pageler, Bryce
Pfeifer, Aaron
Pinger, Branden
Puhr, Ross
Raguse, Jerry
Rix, Garrett
Roers, Ted
Roers, Paula
Rohrich, Bill
Rossow, Rory
Schnasa, Cordell
Schumacher, Ryan
Stasch, Bernie
Straus, Doug
Veen, Emily
Veen, Ted
Veen, Todd
Volk, Kayla
Walsh, Tristan
Wodrich, AJ